1. Lea`Brooks

    Lea`Brooks Contributor Contributor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2,938
    Likes Received:
    1,960
    Location:
    Virginia, United States

    Suggestion Deleting conversations

    Discussion in 'Support & Feedback' started by Lea`Brooks, Jun 11, 2016.

    Could we create a way to delete private-message conversations? I have way too many, and the Type A person inside me is panicking because I can't get rid of them. lol I'm clean and organized and hate having a bunch of messages that I no longer need.

    Halp, please?
     
    BayView likes this.
  2. Tenderiser

    Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    7,547
    Likes Received:
    10,212
    Location:
    London, UK
    Go to your inbox, click the box beside the ones you don't want, and choose "Leave Conversation". That clears 'em out. :)

    The downside is that I think the other person can see that you've left if they click in the message (because it shows who's in the conversation on the right). But if you're clearing out old messages I don't think anyone would take offence if they happened to see.
     
    BayView likes this.
  3. BayView

    BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    10,855
    Likes Received:
    11,672
    I would be VERY offended.

    No one is EVER allowed to leave a conversation with me. Not ever. I'm the one who leaves, not anyone else.

    Is that clear?!?
     
  4. Lea`Brooks

    Lea`Brooks Contributor Contributor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2,938
    Likes Received:
    1,960
    Location:
    Virginia, United States
    But.... I don't want to leave them. I just want to delete them. lol I'm still in conversations with some of them. I guess I'll just leave the old ones... :(
     
  5. Wreybies

    Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    23,815
    Likes Received:
    20,677
    Location:
    El Tembloroso Caribe
    Nope. It doesn't. I've accidentally "left" conversations and chosen "not to receive further replies" upon leaving and then when I tried to get reincluded the software would not allow it. All the while, my member badge showed as still participating in the conversation, as reported by those trying to re-include me in the conversation, complete with screen-caps. o_O

    Just "leave" the conversation and chose the option that allows you to receive later replies. It gives you a choice.
     
    Tenderiser likes this.
  6. Lea`Brooks

    Lea`Brooks Contributor Contributor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2,938
    Likes Received:
    1,960
    Location:
    Virginia, United States
    Yep, I just discovered that. :p My bad... Sorry for making a pointless thread! lol
     
  7. Tenderiser

    Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    7,547
    Likes Received:
    10,212
    Location:
    London, UK
    Separation anxiety is very common. Admittedly, it's mostly in puppies, but I'm not judging. *pats head*
     
    BayView likes this.
  8. Daniel

    Daniel I'm sure you've heard the rumors Founder Staff

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,817
    Likes Received:
    668
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Man, that's a weird design. Not gonna lie. Still showing up as a participant sounds like a Xenforo bug.

    I double checked, but there isn't a functionality to "delete" conversations. It doesn't exist. Leaving a conversation is as close as it gets.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice