1. Mitch445

Mitch445 New Member

desktop publishing inquiry

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Mitch445, Mar 1, 2010.

Hopefully this is the appropriate thread for such an inquiry. I just completed the 1st printing of my book. I'd like to make changes on the 2nd printing, but I'm wondering how to get my designer out of the picture (ya' see...he's VERY expensive and tends to overestimate project time) He provided me with a read-only pdf file. Do I need the original Indesign file with embedded fonts to make my own changes? If so, is he obligated to give it to me? And is it easy to screw up the lay-out if I were to apply my own changes to the original file? I'm not experienced in lay-out. I'm not sure how to handle this. Perhaps my printer can help me out? What would you all suggest?

2. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

whether or not you can get and/or use/change the design you paid for depends on the terms of the contract you signed with the designer... and if you didn't have a contract in place for the work, you sure should have...

your printer may or may not be able to help, but you still need to iron things out with the designer, first...

3. Mitch445

Mitch445 New Member

Oh man...designer contract? This doesn't sound good. He's a friend of my cousin. He designed book/cover, I paid him good money and credited him on copyright page. Even though I paid him, the design is his, and only he can make changes to it?

4. mammamaia

since you paid him for the work, it should be a work-for-hire property that you now own... but since you didn't have any contract in place, it may end up being a case of he said/he said, should he claim ownership of the design...

do you have anything at all in writing that mentions what he'd do for you at what price?... did he send you a bill?... any email relating to the deal?