1. Malina

Malina Member

Do people really read that?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Malina, Feb 10, 2017.

Okay, I'm a newbie, so I suppose it's good to start here. Don't know the rules, but it seems that people do the introductions?
    First off I'm not a native English speaker, just English side of the Internet is a lot broader and I'd rather get myself involved here. I've been writing my whole life, half of which I spent on... uh, let's go with a "book" but I don't know if I'll ever get close to publishing it.
    Also, I really don't know what I'm doing, how does this site work? How does the community work? What to post and not post here?
    And, hey, great to meet you all, have a nice day everyone!

Fernando.C and Simpson17866 like this.
  2. Simpson17866

Simpson17866 Contributor Contributor

Welcome to the site!
    First, your English is better than that of a lot of Americans :)

("Ha ha," fake laugh hiding real pain :()​

Second, I didn't create an Intro thread until I'd been here for about 2 weeks (still sorry everyone :cry:)

Most importantly, this site is more about how people write than it is about what we've written. If you ask 3 different writers how they turn their beginning ideas into finished products, you'll get 4 different answers.

Finally, if you have a passage that you want feedback for, the main options are

1) Go to the Workshop when you've been here for 2 weeks and have 50 posts. You have review 2 pieces from other people for every piece that you ask other people to review.

This is not just a courtesy. It is important for making sure that people actually give feedback (instead of everybody asking for feedback and nobody giving any), but it's not the only thing that's important.

The other thing that's important is that critically reading other people's work and looking for mistakes is the best way to practice finding them in your own work.