Tags:
  1. GB reader

GB reader Contributor Contributor

Does every story need a conflict?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by GB reader, May 19, 2017.

I am very new to this. I have read a lot about writing both here and elsewhere. Conflict seams to be the thing that drives the story. I can see the logic in it, but there must be other ways to make a story interesting. I am at the moment trying to write a short (5000-6000 words) about a girls first kiss. I see no real way to get any real conflict into this, of course there are minor backlashes on the path but raising the stakes, constructing sub conflicts are things I can't get into this.

Is it because the typ (romance) and the short format that I can't see how to make it conflict driven?

2. Spencer1990

Spencer1990 Contributor Contributor

Short answer is yes. Every story needs conflict.

I think what's happening here is that your definition of the word conflict is not wide enough to see that your story likely does have conflict and ample opportunity to add more.

Conflict is just opposition to a goal. If your main character has a goal, and something is in his/her way, you have conflict.

For a story of that length, I wouldn't worry too much about subplots and all that. Just focus on the big one. Ask yourself what your main character wants and what is standing in the way. If the answer is "nothing stands in the way of my character achieving his/her goal," then you need to change that. The core of storytelling is conflict.

3. Cave Troll

Cave Troll It's Coffee O'clock everywhere. Contributor

Where cushions are comfy, and straps hold firm.
    While I am sure the majority would say yes.
    I for one don't believe that it is always necessary.
    Though it has a way of finding itself creeping
    in one way or another.

For something relatively short such as you are speaking,
    the conflict (using the term lightly) would be in the feelings
    and emotions department. Such as being nervous and