1. Edward

Edward Active Member

First impressions

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Edward, May 28, 2008.

Hello, wf.org, it's been a while. I've been a bit busy with other projects, and haven't been dropping by as much as I usually do. That, and there's only so much one can discuss a story before they actually have to write it, no matter how unpolished it is.

But, this thread isn't about me not having put key to test editor, I want to know your impressions of this character.

The story is about a guy who stumbles onto things he shouldn't, and ends up with a few clingers on and eventually him and his Nakama save the world they live in. It's highly influenced by JRPGs, if you couldn't tell from the fact that a ragtag bunch of adventurers are saving creation. The main character-- 20 year old baker and self taught alchemist Aiden Samara-- finds a girl in an escape pod. That girl is the one I want your impressions on.

I'm thinking her personality should be reserved, but not in the sense that she never speaks up about anything. In fact, because I plan on filling up the scenes where the party is traveling with almost Seinfeldien conversations that do nothing more than flesh out the world and the characters, having a quiet member would be a burden.

There are things in the world called Homonculi. A homonculus is something like a organic android, created through alchemy and magic. The villains of the story created two of these Homonculi, and planned to use them as living weapons. The girl is the second one, named Embla.

When Aiden finds her she has no memory, not due to amnesia or anything, but because it's the first time she's been activated. The other homonculi, Ash, was having an affair with one of the lower members of the bad guy organization. He didn't like what he did, and she didn't want his "sister" to go through the same thing, so she put her in the escape pod and sent her away hoping someone would find her and keep her safe.