1. Flamenco1

Flamenco1 Member

First shot at a crime mystery.

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Flamenco1, Dec 7, 2020.

Just looking for a few thoughts on plot creation. I’m just starting out and while I’ve found creating my characters and locations straightforward (possibly because I’ve based them on real people and locations I know well), the plot is causing me problems.

I’m writing a crime mystery, but it is the characters and their interactions that are most important. I guess what I mean by that is the crime is not overly complex and is a framework upon which my characters develop and interact. I hope for the reader that there is some “Who done it” but that is secondary to them caring about some of the main characters (and the predicaments they face).

My first general thoughts on plot development were that the mystery is created by what the reader and/or characters do not know. So, I thought I’d map something out and then expose the overall situation bit by bit to certain characters, and thus the reader.

A rough overview.

· There is an intermediary (link) in an A-class drug delivery chain.
    · A delivery goes missing.
    · Only two people know the intermediary. Both are killed.
    · Three parties: main character who sees himself as a Sherlock Holmes, the local police, and the gang who distribute, are keen to find the intermediary, the murderer and the drugs.
    · Each of the three parties are motivated for different reasons. And each has very different methods.
    · One party does not solve all three objectives.

There’s a bit more to it but that is the drift.

If anyone has any thoughts and/or warnings on this approach I’d welcome your input.

I’d be interested in feedback on:
    • Is mapping out the characters and locations in detail before getting to grips with the plot a bad idea?