1. Deven

Deven New Member

Forgiving the Sociopath?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Deven, Jan 2, 2017.

I'm at a crossroads with an animated story plot that I essentially have completed. A major theme in my story is redemption and I'm trying to accompany it with forgiveness, which brings me to my major issue:

I'm dealing with a primary antagonist so manipulative and utterly devoid of morals, that he briefly succeeds in extorting the protagonist by threatening to drive their already-depressed best friend into suicide, using very personal information he acquired after hacking their computer. He unrepentantly enjoys every second of his scheme and only seems to regret the fact that he's eventually outsmarted and arrested. Not once does he display a single positive or selfless trait and he'd probably this all again if he could.

The depressed young teen, while emotionally shaken and agreeing with the legal punishment, boldly makes a stand to not aggressively demonize and mock our now-defeated antagonist like his protagonist friend does. Instead, he pities him for being so inexplicably depraved and broken, maybe even going as far as to use the f-word: "forgive".

I worry that such an action is inherently seen as naive, foolish and unbelievably heavyhanded of a message by most audiences, but maybe I'm wrong on this.

Has mercy for the so-called "irredeemable" ever ruined an otherwise good story for you?

2. Seren

Seren Writeaholic