1. rubydragon44

rubydragon44 New Member

Help Establishing Target Audience and Extent of Character Turmoil?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by rubydragon44, Feb 8, 2018.

Hello. I'm an amateur here-and-there writer who's been juggling story ideas in his head for some time. I would like to advance my skills before fully challenging the scope of my primary inspiration, but aside from that, I also need to decide on some elements before planning ahead. In order to request assistance, I feel it is necessary for me to detail the premise of the story so far, as appropriate specifications require looking at the full context at hand.

"Paradise" is set in a high-fantasy-meets-loosely-medieval world and explores what lengths one is willing to go to and endure in order to satiate their desires. It follows the experience of Raj, a 31-year-old half bull-rhino who uses his mystical abilities and natural physical prowess in an attempt to earn an honest living devoid of regret and tragedy. He starts off with but a few attributes: The ability to heal his own minor wounds, an innate partial resistance to magic, and a mysterious power informally known as "Magic Protection", the ability to lessen or avoid mortal ailments at the expense of mana. He keeps knowledge of these abilities from most, using them to his advantage while moderating their use to avoid suspicion. His father's wish was for him to carry out the family line of smithing, but came to accept that greater and more direct tasks may befall him in the future, and set him off with crafted gear in his aid.