1. fantasy girl

fantasy girl New Member

Help!!! H1N1 Flu in the Family

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by fantasy girl, Jul 13, 2009.

This is NO JOKE

Three peope in my family have swine flu and im really scared as one of them's my mum. She is in quarinteen for a week.

The other two are my auntie, who gave it to by mum, and my cousin.

I'm most scared about my mum though. I was looking up symptoms on the internet and I found a website and it says you are more suseptable to the virus if you suffer from thyroid problems and my mum has since she was twelve. I need help. What should do?

Fantasy girl

2. marina

marina Contributor Contributor

Sorry about your family.

About your mum - Well she's being treated by a doctor, right? So I would say just try to make things easy on her.

3. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

Fantasy. Deep breath. Exhale.

Im sure you know by now that I work as a Spanish interpreter. The medical industry is one of my biggest clients, comprising easily 80% of what I do in a day.

Swine Flu started in Mexico. I translate for all of those doctors.

Swine Flu is a very bad case of the flu, but still, it's a flu. Treatment follows the same course as one would for any flu.

It's gonna be a wopper of a flu, but still, it's the flu.

Unfortunately, the media engine known as American Television has blown this thing completely out of proportion.

4. fantasy girl

fantasy girl New Member

thanks marina, wreybrise

I know its only a bad case of the flu but from all the people who have died from it I dont want it to happen to me too.

Some people think thats selfish but if you knew what it was like...
    A few days ago we were joking about swine flu, how it isnt as bad as people have said. But when it hits home... last night she looked awefull I felt so sorry for her.

I want to help but I cant because I dont want to get it. I want this nightmare to be over!!!

5. Lavarian

Lavarian Contributor Contributor