1. Smoke Z

Smoke Z Active Member

Where can I go for ruthlessness? (Writing related.)

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by Smoke Z, Apr 8, 2014.

I don't know if it is a bug in the forum or me not reviewing other's work, but I can't post anything new to the workshop.

I don't know how to constructively review.

I cannot follow the golden rule: I want people to rip into me with full claws as if they were forced to be my editor.

I'm not good at the platinum rule either. I go into the workshop and read occasionally. There are some people I just want to rip apart for awfulness and I keep second-guessing how gentle I'm being about it. Apparently asking questions isn't reviewing, but I feel like if I can passively direct them, they will tighten.

There are some people who just need a grammar beta and I'm not that nit-picky.

Where can I go to get my stuff snarked, beaten, and humiliated, and still learn from the experience?

2. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

Send a PM to one of the mods. See if it is a posting glitch or a prerequisite issue.

3. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

I'm perfectly willing to tear your prose apart--my usual problem is remembering to note what's good, and not make my reviews focus on the negative, and I tend to forget that.

Re your problem with being able to write constructive reviews, I don't think that constructive review requires any positivity or praise. IMO, a review fulfills at least minimal standards of constructive if you give concrete reasons for your criticisms, instead of just, "This is horrible!!!"

jannert and Smoke Z like this.
  4. Smoke Z

Smoke Z Active Member

Perhaps there could be a tag that matches people like you with people like me? I can assume that anything that hasn't been mentioned isn't the problem if the problem is lambasted.

5. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor