1. Thank you all for your patience with our technical errors. We think we've fixed it, but please do report anything that's not working right, by posting on the 'minor bugs' thread in Support and Feedback, which can be found here.
    Dismiss Notice
  1. MarriedMan100

    MarriedMan100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3

    Question [Solved] How do I insert a link into my signature?

    Discussion in 'Support & Feedback' started by MarriedMan100, Jan 21, 2017.

    Sorry if it's obvious and I'm missing it. I see "Edit Signature" and "Settings," but I don't see a way to insert a link. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. Cave Troll

    Cave Troll It's Coffee O'clock everywhere. Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    17,740
    Likes Received:
    26,796
    Location:
    Where cushions are comfy, and straps hold firm.
    Have you tried to copy/paste a link directly into the sig. box?
    That is how we share links in the comments, it should work for the sig. as well.

    Good luck, hope that works otherwise get a second opinion. :supergrin:
     
  3. MarriedMan100

    MarriedMan100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes, I tried cutting-and-pasting the link but it doesn't seem to work. I'm not sure what's up...

    Good grief, I just noticed my glaring typo in my title; inexcusable for a writing forum.
     
  4. Cave Troll

    Cave Troll It's Coffee O'clock everywhere. Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    17,740
    Likes Received:
    26,796
    Location:
    Where cushions are comfy, and straps hold firm.
    I would say try hunting down an admin, they should be able to get you sorted. :p
     
  5. Sack-a-Doo!

    Sack-a-Doo! Contributor Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    [unspecified]
    Editing your sig is the same as editing any message. Highlight the text where you want the link, get the link, and use the 'link' button at the top of the editing panel (it looks like two links of a chain).

    If that doesn't work, it's because you're too soon out of the oven and no one frosts a hot cake. :)
     
    Iain Aschendale and Wreybies like this.
  6. Wreybies

    Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    23,844
    Likes Received:
    20,803
    Location:
    El Tembloroso Caribe
    You're brand-spankity-new to the forum, so the software is not going to let you insert an active link until you've been around a bit and participated. When your badge stops saying New Member and goes to just Member, you should be good to go.

    I know this feels tedious, but there are reasons for these thresholds that have to do with a) deterring spambots, and b) our quest to foster a community, not serve as stop-n-drop advertising space.
     
  7. MarriedMan100

    MarriedMan100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    That makes sense; thanks for the information.
     
    Sack-a-Doo! likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice