1. nastyjman

nastyjman Senior Member

Novel How do you study books?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by nastyjman, May 16, 2013.

I've read dozens of how-to books regarding fiction, and it has come to a point where everything said is stated again and again (show don't tell, be precise with words, use imagery, turn off the editor-mind, don't give your protagonist an exit, etc.).

I'm reading The Road by Cormac McCarthy, and I plan to read it again to study it (first read for pleasure, second for study). There was a point in the book where suspense was just too much, I had to write down the page to gloss it over again on the second read-through. There was temptation to write on the book itself, but I try not to do that with fiction since I don't want to distract the next reader, who I would lend or pass it on one day.

This would be my first venture in analyzing, synthesizing and cutting up a book for its treasure. I'm a graduate of Accounting with an Associates Degree... so I barely studied English Literature. So my question is, how do you study a fiction book? Do you have a notebook and create an outline of the book? Have you written down sentences that captured your imagination? Do you critique the book or write a review of it?

I'd like to know what your process is in studying books.

2. jazzabel

jazzabel Agent Provocateur Contributor

For me, it depends on the project I'm working on. For example, if I'm writing a mystery novel, I'll initially have a choice of the books that I remember did something that I want to include. It can be a specific description, the transitions, the intro of a certain character, anything at all that I'm not sure how to approach. Sometimes I study pacing and chapters, to see the dynamic as in, when do you introduce the second POV for example, or how to weave the romantic subplot, chapters wise.