1. SecretNinja

SecretNinja New Member

How hard is it to get published?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by SecretNinja, Feb 8, 2012.

Hello all! :)

I've been dipping my toes into some creative writing and stumbled upon those forums. I've been toying with the idea of writing part-time, and I was wondering how hard is it exactly to get published? Anyone here with first hand experience? If yes, did you succeed? How? Is it really the monster it is rumored to be?

-SecretNinja

EDIT: Yeah, just noticed that there was a publishing section to those forums. It's my first time and I missed it! Sorry guys :(

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Exactly 833.7. :)

3. EdFromNY

EdFromNY Hope to improve with age Supporter Contributor

You are toying with the idea of writing part time?

Piece of cake.

4. SecretNinja

SecretNinja New Member

Please explain?

5. Ziggy Stardust

Ziggy Stardust Active Member

If your writing is good enough, you will eventually get published. Simple as that really.

6. Banzai

Banzai One-time Mod, but on the road to recovery Contributor

Keep writing. Keep reading. Keep improving. Keep submitting.

That's all there is to it, really.

7. EdFromNY

I'm surprised you should feel the need to ask. But, since you have: the manner in which you asked your question suggests that you might consider having a go at writing IF getting published isn't too terribly difficult and as long as it doesn't trespass on your valuable time. That kind of approach does not augur well for a successful writing career, and if you read through the legions of posts on this forum, it is rather alien to the manner in which most of us approach writing.