1. 33percent

33percent Active Member

How long did it take you to write your book?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by 33percent, Jul 6, 2015.

I've been writing mine for going on almost four years, never imagined it would be this difficult. From time to time it does get discouraging. Just wondering people on here in are almost at the final stretch or finish line. How long did it take you to write your book? and what did you do to keep yourself going, and not quitting. With my first draft counting over 100k+words, and my second draft is 66,454 words. I'm just half way through it. The more I throw myself into the story, the deeper the rabbit hole goes. I don't know what is more difficult my plot, character development, setting or myself. I'm just curious on your journey of writing your book.

2. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

Four years is a long time for any project, but you may also want to consider how many total hours you've spent on it. Four years working full time would be a hell of a lot more intense than four years of pecking away at it now and then when the urge hits you.

It's also possible/likely that a lot of what you've been doing over those four years isn't working on your book, exactly, but rather learning how to write, using your book as an exercise. It sounds like this is your first project, so if that's the case, you probably only had a shaky idea what you were doing when you got started. So, cheer up, future projects will probably go faster!

3. 33percent

33percent Active Member

I haven't been working full time on it, mainly because of my job sucks up majority of my time. When I get free time usually on the weekends, and having the urge to write I do so. At first the idea was shaky when I first started it, then bloomed into something almost entirely different but on the same concept. The 1st & 2nd draft are almost completely different. Lately just been working on setting, and theme of the story.

jannert likes this.