1. Bascomb Brown

Bascomb Brown Banned

Personal Support

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Bascomb Brown, Feb 20, 2020.

Forum,
    I'm having a personal problem that is kind of f'ing with my mind. I have been writing full time at home for about 4 months now, (I'm the stay at home parent), and I get about 3 hours to myself in the morning home alone, then a few after the kids go to bed. In total, I have about 200K worth of words invested in that time, in various books over various genres.
    I haven't made it a secret what I am doing when my partner ask, and when they ask if I want to watch a movie in the evening, I tell them no (I've been on a momentum with my latest book).
    My partner is extremely supportive in many ways, doesn't mind being the bread winner for a job they hate, is a great parent that picks up as soon as they come home, etc. But when it comes to my writing, they have more or less, sucked.
    They did not read my doctoral dissertation, citing they would not have understood it, fair enough.
    Then, the other night, I thought I would trust them a little (I'm always pretty nervous about showing people my work), and asked if they wanted to read something short. No, they were not feeling well, and didn't want to think. Then goes to bed and reads from the kindle.
    The next night, the same. Ok, we currently all have the flu. But then I mention I am writing horror, and they get a look on their face being 'why would you write in that genre?'. Like honestly, just say literally one nice, supportive thing.
    How does anyone else deal with this? I feel like this is part of the reason I don't share anything anymore and nervous to let anyone see it. Or, am I being daft and I should take a teaspoon of cement and harden the f. up?

TLDR- I write, my partner never reads or cares. Should I?

OB2611 and jannert like this.
  2. Some Guy

Some Guy Manguage Langler Supporter Contributor