Tags:
  1. Viserion

Viserion Senior Member

How to imply abuse?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Viserion, Nov 27, 2020.

So, I have no personal experience with abuse (thankfully). However, I’m planning on writing the main villain of my work as an abusive father who treats his children like disposable tools.

The thing is, I don’t want it to be obvious that he’s abusive. It gradually comes out as the story progresses, and for a great portion of it he seems like a good father (although it’s clear from the beginning that he’s vicious).

Suggestions?

2. DriedPen

DriedPen Member

Abuse does not work like you think. Abuse is so insidious because it places not only the pain, but the cover-up to be done, on the victim.

As an example, growing up I lived on a farm, and we were expected to get good grades, but also to work hard on the farm. I would get done in the barn sometimes at 1 AM and be getting ready for school at at 6 AM. Needless to say I was falling asleep in class and let my grades slip.

So we had hayloft that was one way in, and only one way out. My Grandfather surprised me inside there one afternoon with a axe handle (no axe head). He broke 11 of my ribs for not getting good grades, telling me it was my fault. But I told my mother that I had got tangled up with a bull, and that was how my ribs got broke.

But my grandfather was kind of right because I got good grades after that, so whose fault was it? I want to say his, for making me work to 1 Am and swinging the axe handle, but then, after that I did work that late everyday, and still got good grades...so it was kind of my fault. I could do both when properly motivated.

I was told just yesterday "I was too nice." But did I accomplish that because of my abuse, or despite it? That is the question to be debated.