1. Noya Desherbanté

Noya Desherbanté New Member

Novel Illustrations!

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Noya Desherbanté, Nov 16, 2010.

In your opinion, does fiction benefit from illustrations or does it detract from the experience?? Are illustrations set for a comeback in adult fiction, like they were in Dickens? Would you like to see this or are you glad pictures don't feature much - if at all - in most contemporary books?

The reason I was going to post this thread was that I was thinking of doing a few illustrations, just some little pretty line drawings, for a book I would like to e-publish... but because I'm not a professional artist I would have thought this would generally be a dreadful idea. I might go to some art students down the hall from me... hmm.

2. Elgaisma

Elgaisma Contributor Contributor

I don't know sometimes it is nice, sometimes it detracts and removes the imagination.

I do have illustrations for my stories my seven year old draws my characters for me she does a wonderful japanese anime style art that works really well.

3. arron89

arron89 Banned

I think it's a bad idea to just tack them on, yes. If you consider the more successful illustrated novels, the text and the drawings are almost always developed alongside one another so that they enrich each other; the illustrations extend our understanding of the text, often by revealing details that could not be delivered in the text without disrupting the narrative.

So, if you're thinking of illustrations just for the sake of it, I'd avoid it. If you think you can come up with compositions that will aid the text, drawn in a style that suits the text, then why not? Self-publishing means you can be a little more experimental.

4. digitig

digitig Contributor Contributor

Orpington, Bromley, United Kingdom, United Kingdom