1. Roux

Roux New Member

Novel I'm a Horrible Writer.

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Roux, Aug 9, 2011.

So at the moment, I'm very frustrated with my current work in progress. Its a YA Novel that I've worked hard on developing, drafting, actually writing, editing, and about everything you can name that comes with writing a novel. Its been very challenging, mostly because I'm 15 and don't know the slightest bit about being a YA. (I thought I did, or I could at least watch and learn, but I have just proven myself wrong.)

After spending 2 whole friggen days writing a draft of a chapter, I read over it and realized something very important...I'm a horrible writer. The chapter had absolutely no life, it was telling more than showing, most of it is filler, and now the characters are beginning to become blocks of wood!

My point for this thread? I'm wondering what you, the more experienced end of Authorhood, do when you become very frustrated with your work and just want to give up because no matter what you do or how many times you edit you can't produce anything worth showing to anyone.

2. Cain

Cain Member

I usually step away for a bit, try to shake off that self-doubt (which we all feel at some point. Sometimes even a lot of the time). I'll avoid reviewing recent writing and look at older stuff since I often forgot the pain it took to write it and it can surprise me how it well came out.

Looking at recent writing I find you get that 'can't see the wood for the trees' effect since all that effort it took to write it is still floating around - if I struggled to portray something then I'll be remembering that struggle too strongly to appreciate whether I succeeded or not. Coming back to it a lot later I'll see just the writing, and will read it as a reader would (and more often than not it doesn't suck as badly as I thought at the time).

3. VM80

VM80 Contributor Contributor

I think first of all you need to try and take it easy. :)