Tags:
  1. GB reader

GB reader Contributor Contributor

Inside your narrator

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by GB reader, Jun 10, 2017.

I am very new at writing. I can’t write anything but third person present. I think I understand third person limited as the narrator sees things from the MC’s perspective. But how deep into the MC’s head is the narrator? Does the narrator know exactly what our MC thinks. Does the narrator feel the MC’s heart suddenly pumping faster. Or is the narrator only observing from the outside?

Has the narrator the same knowledge of the MC as in a first person perspective?
    Has the narrator the same knowledge of the MC through the story? (that is does the narrator step in and out of the MC?)

Do we ever get the narrator's opinion or is he/she always a neutral observer?

Scen. (illustrative example only, slightly inconsistent)

A young man (Bob) is at the marketplace Saturday morning, he hears steps, from an alley a beautiful woman appears.

So good/bad things with.

1 The narrator describes the woman.

The woman in front of him is beautiful, she has long blond hair. Her eyes are blue.

2 Bob describes her, we get his thoughts..

I have never seen anything as beautiful, her vivid red hair, her blue eyes.

3 the narrator describes her through Bob’s eyes

He sees her blonde hair, his gaze stops at the blue eyes.

What other ways are there? Do you mix?

The woman had blonde hair. I’ve never seen anything as pretty, he thought. His eyes lingered for a long time on her blue eyes.

2. Rosacrvx

Rosacrvx Contributor Contributor

I would like some opinions on these questions myself since I'm new to the jargon.

However, I think this:

is omniscient narrator, and out of fashion, as far as I can gather from general opinion.

In third person narration, how deep is the narrator in the main character's head? How much the author wants it to be, I'd say. But wait for better advice.

3. Walking Dog

Walking Dog Active Member