1. Jennifox

Jennifox New Member

Introducing Characters the Protagonist Already Knows

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Jennifox, May 4, 2020.

The book I am writing has six different short stories, all in first person and narrated by six different protagonists. It is science fiction and set in space about 375 years from now. The protagonists all already know each other and are all involved in all of the stories together. Due to the protagonists already knowing each other, they don't meet for the first time within the first story. The problem I have comes here. Most books I read, the protagonists meet for the first time and are then introduced. If the protagonists already know each other, what are some ways to introduce them? Is just listing them too boring or not exciting enough? I want to have a good introduction to the plot of the first story, making sure that the reader enjoys it.
    I'm quite new to writing, and look forward to hearing any replies.
    Thanks,
    Jennifox

2. Xoic

Xoic Prognosticator of Arcana Ridiculosum Contributor Blogerator

I can see where it would be easier to introduce them to the reader as they're being introduced to each other, but if that isn't an option, just have the narrator introduce each to the reader as their turn comes up, and don't give more than one relevant bit of info to identify each at that first moment. You can dd more in little by little as it goes on, pepper them in as you go.

Steve Rivers, Cave Troll and Jennifox like this.
  3. Stormburn

Stormburn Contributor Contributor

You could have the MC introduce the character to a companion. Or, there's been a major change in the character that the MC has heard about: "Michael, I heard you were discharged from the service?" The MC asks.

Jennifox likes this.
  4. Lifeline

Lifeline South. Supporter Contributor