Tags:
  1. MarionRivers

MarionRivers New Member

Is creative writing a good pursuit for University in your opinion?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by MarionRivers, Aug 22, 2008.

What do you good folk think?

I would gather that to pursue creative writing as a college major is much of an absurdity, unless you seek live your days an English educator. This was confirmed by a story I've read on the web about a creative writing major with debts employed at Pizza Hut.

It seems that if you want to be a writer, just be a writer on your own time and attend university to attain a practical skill to acquire money before you hopefully get your work published or produced.

2. stoned4assassin20

stoned4assassin20 New Member

Hmmm, that's a tough question. In the end, it all comes down to what you want to do.

For years, I was dead set on majoring in English or creative writing. However, recently, I realized that if I majored in English and writing didn't work out for me (or took some time to work out), I would have nothing to fall back on with just a degree in creative writing. And I definitely don't want to be an English teacher. My first quarter, I decided that I would major in psychology or neuroscience, and that I would just write on the side. Personally, that seems more practical, because I'll be working in a field that I'm interested in, and I'll always have that if writing doesn't pan out. I guess it's that old "don't put all of your eggs in one basket" saying. Cliche, but true.

Once again, it all comes down to you. No one else can tell you how to lead your life, and only you know what you really want. Remember that most people don't know exactly what they want to major in when they first start college, and most people change their majors at some time during the course of their education. There's time to test out a variety of things in your education. Explore other fields that might interest you. After all, you can always write-- regardless of your major.