1. littlebluelie

littlebluelie New Member

Is there a "best writing program"?

Discussion in 'Writing Software and Hardware' started by littlebluelie, Dec 30, 2008.

Hi. I'm a newbie here and I haven't a clue as to where this should be posted.
    Please move it if it doesn't belong. :redface:

I'd like to know what program you use to write out your masterpieces. I have Microsoft Works vs. 8.5 and I'm not too fond of it, especially since I just completed the first chapter of a novel I'm working on and it's already corrupted the file.

Does anyone have any suggestions?
    What's your cup o' tea as far as processors go and why?

pat jamerson likes this.
  2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Microsoft Word - it's THE standard for word processing software, and Word files are what most publishers accept for soft copies of manuscripts. A free alternative is OpenOffice, but I use Word.

Corruption is a possibility with any word processing program, especially while you are still learning how to use it. You best defense is to make backups on a regular basis. Get into the habit of saving copies with the date as part of the file name. Again, this is even more important when you are still learning hopw to use the program, because you WILL make mistakes that may be very hard to fix, or that result in the loss of large pieces of writing.

Yoav likes this.
  3. Mr Vampyre

Mr Vampyre New Member

I use WriteItNow as a means of easily storing my manuscript, but then I transfer everything over to word.

4. laurelin

laurelin New Member

I use Microsoft Word 2007 edition. I prefer it over the earlier versions as it has a much better-looking template and default font, and a neat thing is that you can put your work into a layout that makes it look spread out on the pages of a novel.

5. Cestralisk

Cestralisk New Member