1. The Freshmaker

The Freshmaker <insert obscure pop culture reference> Contributor

Job Me.

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by The Freshmaker, Jul 10, 2008.

I've been in college for a while now. I've taken a lot of random classes, because I have no clue what I want to do. I've tried a number of subjects, most recently computer programming. But my college money is running out, and I still haven't found anything that clicks.

So...

What I want you guys to do is tell me about your career, or the career you are planning on going into. Describe in detail what it is that you do. Then tell me what you like about your career, and what you don't like about it.

Basically, convince me to go into your line of work.

Your participation is appreciated.

2. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

Job you, huh?

Well, I work as an interpreter. A consecutive interpreter to be more precise. There is also simultaneous interpreting, which I have done, but do not do in my current job.

More on that later.

Benefits:
    Good pay
    Rarely boring
    When you’re done for the day, you’re done. No bringing the job home with you at night.

Negatives:
    Very competitive field
    Must speak two languages fluently (Better if you have more than two under your belt.)
    Can sometimes be difficult to separate yourself from the conversation when it starts to go south.