1. daemon

daemon Contributor Contributor

Just a guy on a mission

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by daemon, Jun 18, 2014.

I never wanted to be a creative author. I still do not. I do not like to write fiction and I do not like any of the fiction that I have ever forced myself to write. I am majoring in computer science in college and I plan to develop software for a living. Mathematics is my primary passion and I plan to spend my free time studying the subject and hopefully doing my own research.

However, there is a novel that I want to write. Right now, I care about seeing this novel to completion more than I have cared about any other project I have ever started. If I write it, then it will purely be a labor of love: a free-time project uploaded to the public domain with the sole goal that as many people read it and enjoy it as possible. After that, I just want to be done with creative writing. I never want to touch the commercial publishing industry if I can avoid it.

I recently read a novel that instantly became my all-time favorite fictional story. I like it for its themes and its character development. Ever since then, I have felt conflicted about the fact that it is my favorite story. It is a fanfic from a community that does not get much respect from the outside (though I certainly respect the community), and this book in particular is written sloppily. I have read plenty of classic literature, I readily admit that the classics are higher quality, and I want to enjoy the classics more than I enjoy fan fiction, but every time I try to get myself excited about any given classic, my mind just wanders back to the themes, characters, and mental images in my favorite story.