1. superdoopersauce

superdoopersauce New Member

Learning another language...

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by superdoopersauce, Jul 11, 2011.

One thing I've noticed about learning German is how much you learn about English... or whatever your mother tongue is. I've taken creative writing classes, journalism classes, and English classes (of course), but nothing has improved my form and structure and word usage like my German classes, both here and in Germany. I started learning German about 3 years ago, and I got pretty intense into it, and now I'm functionally fluent. Reading Kafka's The Metamorphosis in its original language really uncovers a new dynamic that doesn't really come out in the translated version, even though the translation is pretty good. Reading both languages side-by-side also reveals a lot of interesting aspects about the form and structure of certain stories.

I'd say one of the best ways to master your mother tongue is to learn another language.

Anyone have a similar experience?

2. Ellipse

Ellipse Contributor Contributor

In high school I had a foreign language teacher say the same thing. He explained learning a second language actually taught you more about grammar in your mother language. So people who are bilingual have an advantage over others who speak only one language.

3. Daydream

Daydream Contributor Contributor