1. Lmc71775

Lmc71775 Active Member

Lmc's Believe it or NOT!

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Lmc71775, Oct 10, 2009.

Ok, here's a thought or question or idea to ponder on.

How do you make your fictional story so believable, the readers will go...wow, that's a great story.

A sincerely great story to me, sometimes even brings me to tears...or brings me to wonder in deep thought or delight!

I am a manic-depressive writer and I mainly write poetry and children's short stories, some adult short stories and a novella too.

Sometimes I am not in the mood to write, should I write anyway to press on with a story? Sometimes I write feeling in a great mood and write a story I truly believe is a good story....BUT after I post and recieve some feedback...good or bad or both....should I still believe in my story if some people say it is dull or depressing or not good enough?

I had a professional editor edit my novella and now after recieving extensive feedback, I am at a stand still with it, because I lost interest and lost the belief that is was good. Now I am stuck with a dull, depressing 35, 000 word story I no longer believe in.

I worked months on it, and poof!! I don't wanna even look at it anymore. So I move on to short stories and poems and other writing...fiction and non-fiction...

Anyway...how do you write? when do you write? when the feeling is good? What if I think and believe I truly have a great idea on my hands and then boom...NO COMMENT on the boards...or whatever...then where does the story go? As the story goes nowhere after so many rejections. I don't want to self-publish, I can't afford it.

Anyone have any thoughts on the matter? Just a thought.

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor