1. Published on Amazon? If you have a book, e-book, or audiobook available on Amazon.com, we'll promote it on WritingForums.org for free. Simply add your book to our Member Publications section. Add your book here or read the full announcement.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
  1. GingerCoffee

    GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    17,638
    Likes Received:
    5,905
    Location:
    Ralph's side of the island.

    Meteor Shower/Storm possible tonight.

    Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by GingerCoffee, May 24, 2014.

    No doubt some of you have heard about this one time event, the Earth is going to pass through a new comet trail and it could be anything from a dud to a storm.

    Here's NASA's live stream if you don't want to go outside in the middle of the night or like here, you aren't sure if the clouds will cover the sky or not, or, if you aren't in North America:

    http://www.nasa.gov/topics/solarsystem/features/watchtheskies/may-camelopardalids.html#.U3__WK3KTFe

    For those who are time zone challenged that translates to:

    "Active during:
    UTC: 2:30 am - 11:00 am May 24th
    EDT: 10:30 pm May 23rd - 7:00 am May 24th
    CDT: 9:30 pm May 23rd - 6:00 am May 24th
    MDT: 8:30 pm May 23rd - 5:00 am May 24th
    MST/PDT: 7:30 pm May 23rd - 4:00 am May 24th

    Expected Peak:
    UTC: 6:00 am - 8:00 am May 24th
    EDT: 2:00 am - 4:00 am May 24th
    CDT: 1:00 am - 3:00 am May 24th
    MDT: 12:00 am - 2:00 am May 24th
    MST/PDT: 11:00 PM May 23rd - 1:00 am May 24th"

    Those guys at NASA have all the fun. The live stream is from some desert site where a bunch of them are all camping out tonight.
     
  2. GingerCoffee

    GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    17,638
    Likes Received:
    5,905
    Location:
    Ralph's side of the island.
    I might just have lucked out here. There's a hole in the clouds that looks to be perfectly timed.

    Did I mention I've seen the Leonids storm? It was incredible.
     
  3. minstrel

    minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Staff Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    8,841
    Likes Received:
    4,983
    Location:
    Near Los Angeles
    There's some high haze in the sky here in western LA county. I hope it gets clear enough by eleven or so for me to see a show!
     
  4. GingerCoffee

    GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    17,638
    Likes Received:
    5,905
    Location:
    Ralph's side of the island.
    The clouds rolled in here after all so I've been keeping an eye on the live stream: Only a few meteors total so far. It's one of those things about sky watching, there's a lot of unrewarding time spent but with the exceptions where one happens upon something by luck, you have to put in time to be watching when something does happen. I'll watch a bit more but it's past the expected peak so I'll be turning in soon.
     
  5. Cogito

    Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    35,953
    Likes Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Cloudy with a chance of incandescent rocks...
     
  6. sunsplash

    sunsplash Bona fide beach bum

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Between the Magic City & the Conch Republic
    I checked off and on from midnight to 3:30am (peak was 2-4) and didn't see anything. The sky was perfectly clear but I think I'm just too close to the city without a telescope.
     
  7. minstrel

    minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Staff Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    8,841
    Likes Received:
    4,983
    Location:
    Near Los Angeles
    It was too hazy last night to see anything. I couldn't even see more than about three stars, let alone shooting stars!

    Grr. Months of perfect weather, and the first night in a long while when there's something interesting to see, we get high clouds.
     
  8. Annûniel

    Annûniel Contributing Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Ye Old Dominion, USA
    Aww, I slept through it :(
     

Share This Page