1. Alesia

    Alesia Pen names: AJ Connor, Carey Connolly Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    252
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN

    More computer issues

    Discussion in 'Support & Feedback' started by Alesia, Sep 7, 2013.

    As if my computer problems weren't bad enough, now I'm getting the following message when I browse these forums:

    Normally it wouldn't bother me, but the forums look all scrambled on my screen now. I can barely get a message posted. Anyone know what's up with this message?
     
  2. Alesia

    Alesia Pen names: AJ Connor, Carey Connolly Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    252
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Nevermind. I think it's a Firefox issue. The forums are working just fine on Chrome.
     
  3. GingerCoffee

    GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    17,837
    Likes Received:
    6,161
    Location:
    Ralph's side of the island.
    You can disable flash player. I keep mine disabled most of the time because Adobe Flash screws up all sorts of pages when they load. I just enable it for the videos I want to watch that use it, and disable it when I'm done. You should have a page with plug in commands on Chrome (chrome://plugins/):

    Adobe Flash Player (2 files) - Version: 11.8.800.97 (Disabled)
    Shockwave Flash 11.8 r800
    Name:Shockwave Flash
    Description:Shockwave Flash 11.8 r800
    Version:11.8.800.97
    Location:/Applications/Google Chrome.app/Contents/Versions/29.0.1547.65/Google Chrome Framework.framework/Internet Plug-Ins/PepperFlash/PepperFlashPlayer.plugin
    Type PAPI (out-of-process)
    Enable
    Description:Shockwave Flash 11.3 r300
    Name:Shockwave Flash
    Version:11.3.300.257
    Location:/Library/Internet Plug-Ins/Flash Player.plugin
    Type:NPAPI
    Enable
     
  4. m24p

    m24p Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well, did you run chkdsk on volume c? :)

    Seriously, though, I doubt that is the real issue. Flash Player screws stuff up. Good luck!
     
  5. Alesia

    Alesia Pen names: AJ Connor, Carey Connolly Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    252
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Yeah, I ran a chkdsk and the issue vanished, but Firefox is still acting kind of goofy. And my laptop is still randomly freezing up (Compaq CQ61) and when it does, the blue WiFi light next to the power button turns bright red. I dunno what that's all about.
     
  6. m24p

    m24p Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Make sure everything important to you is on a location other than just your hard rive. (Good advice in general AND in particular. )
     
  7. Alesia

    Alesia Pen names: AJ Connor, Carey Connolly Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    252
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    No worries, the entire memory of this machine is backed up on disc, flash drive, and and external HD for triple protection :D
     
    m24p likes this.
  8. Vandor76

    Vandor76 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Hungary
    This is the way to go :)

    I suggest to re-install Firefox and FlashPlayer to put things back on track.
     

Share This Page