1. EVernon

EVernon New Member

My writing doesn't have the right "feel" to it?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by EVernon, Aug 4, 2012.

I'm not sure how to explain my problem, but I hope some people here might understand what I mean. Also, I'm sorry if this topic has been covered before, but I couldn't find any threads which really mirrored the problem I'm having.

Basically, I don't think I am a fabulous writer by any means, I'm quite new to writing, but I do think I have some ability. I can get my words out on paper, and I know where I want my stories to go. My biggest problem, is I cannot get my writing to 'feel' the way I want it to... you know you read some books, and they just have a dark, mysterious feel? Or a dreamy sort of quality? I can't figure out how to give my writing that sort of feel. Things I write always come out too tame. The novel I am working on right now is meant to be a dark sort of book, and despite writing about dark things, I can't get past the feeling that my writing sounds too 'young adult' and vanilla.

I guess what I'm trying to ask is, how do you tailor your writing to the genre you are trying to achieve? How do you make a novel feel 'dark'?

2. Dryriver

Dryriver New Member

To make a novel feel dark?

Well, I think it is partially a question of using the right words (vocabulary) and the right location descriptions (the location, the quality of the light in it, maybe some rusty metal objects in it, any strange/freaky noises or sounds that can be heard and so forth... like the whisper of wind around the outside of a building).

I would poke around a Thesaurus for synonyms of words like "dark", "dim", "old", "weathered", "rusty" and so forth.

Remember that what the reader will see in their mind is your "cinematography" of scenes. And in writing, cinematography is achieved by using the right descriptions.