1. Teladan

Teladan Contributor Contributor

Mythago Wood - If Only...

Discussion in 'Discussion of Published Works' started by Teladan, Aug 8, 2020.

This book and author seemed tailored to me. He studied zoology and loved woodlands. I studied ecology and love woodlands. Most of my writings revolve around portals into other worlds and the power of fantasy and archetypes. I'm surprised I've never encountered Holdstock before. However, I've just finished reading MW and I have to say I didn't like it as much as I want to. I suppose that's okay, and I am planning to read the second book, but I just can't get my head around the metaphysics of the thing. I would dearly appreciate any clarifications to the following questions.

I understand the core concepts of Mythagos and the subconscious/archetypes/Jungian/Freud aspects. But I just don't understand how things actually work. It seems the sort of book about which one can ask a thousand questions.

SPOILERS AHEAD. (Largely unstructured queries)

• Why only Ryhope Wood? Why not any of the other ancient woodlands in Britain at the time? (I think Broceliande features in one story.)
    • If they go back in time toward the wall of fire, why does Talos appear before the "early Scandinavian communities". I had assumed they'd go back in time.
    • One of my main questions is why Guiwenneth came out of the wood and at what point in her story. I can't quite see the overall structure of all the different Peregu/Peredur/Mogoch myths. At what point in her story did she leave to go in search of Steve?
    • The story started off with clear mythago archetypal heroes, but soon becomes just a regular world with settlements and the like. I understand the the knight's castle and the broch were mythagos themselves, but what of the various little communities that help them survive? What role do they have?