1. Leonardo Pisano

Leonardo Pisano Active Member

Narrative-dialogue ratio

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by Leonardo Pisano, May 6, 2011.

As a beginner, I wrote a lot of dialogue and I saw some advice that's it -- amateurish. I feel that dialogues bring the story more to life and gives deeper insights in moods and characters. So, what is a sensible ratio, and what is the reason behind the advice? Is it boring to read many dialogues? Or does it make your story longer than necessary (narratives are often a short cut)?

2. JimFlagg

JimFlagg New Member

With Dialog you add one more level of depth to your character, that is the way they speak. You can make each character distinct by what catch phrases they use and when they cut in to a conversation.

You could write a story that is entirely a narrative but it would be boring.

As for how much you should have is entirely up to your writing style. I like dialog so I usually go 50/50.

3. Annûniel

Annûniel Contributor Contributor

Too much of anything is a bad thing. It's all a matter of finding that happy medium. Though depending on what your story needs and the typical ratio for your targeted audience, that ratio can be skewed in both directions.

4. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

don't waste precious time and energy trying to find stats to write by!

just constantly read and study good novels by the best writers, to 'absorb' how it's done and then write yours as it wants to be written...

5. Yoshiko

Yoshiko Contributor Contributor

I don't think it's a question with a definite answer - isn't it something that changes from novel to novel?

Write what feels like the right amount. When you read it back and it feel like there's too much/too little then that's the time to condense/add to it.

6. popsicledeath

popsicledeath Banned

Richard Bausch has written two stories that were only dialog, one widely anthologized. So hey, the world is your oyster cracker.