1. threefivezero

threefivezero New Member

Newest of the Newbies asking the Most Basic of Basic Advice...

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by threefivezero, Feb 16, 2009.

Just to clarify, I'm new.

I have always enjoyed writing as a hobby. However, it has always been recreational and even though I have toyed with the idea of making a living at it many times over the years, I haven't really ever pursued it in any formal fashion.

I enjoy writing fiction, but in general I started writing in depth about daily life and things I'd done, and some of those got published in small rags and newsletters for various organizations that I belonged to. Mostly I enjoy writing things down that my kids will hopefully enjoy reading one day when they're older, and have forgotten how much fun they were to their Dad...

Over the years I have also found that I tend to be very good at technical writing, as an Engineer I was always able to relay technical ideas through writing very well. This was never much fun though.

As you can see, I like to talk about myself so I'll skip to the point:

I have no idea how to even begin planning a long term career as a writer. I have no end of writing samples I could submit to anyone that could give me more guidance on where I could begin my journey.

And in the mean time I have to pay the bills with the day job, and am raising 2 kids.

2. threefivezero

threefivezero New Member

Sorry, forgot the background on why I suddenly decided to look into this...

My son loves to write, as did I when I was very young. He's 8, in 2nd grade. His report card indicated recently that he was very good at it. Not news to me, but I of course praised him and we talked about it. He writes short stories and we read them as bedtime stories.

Our discussion went something like this: