1. ard.houtstaak

ard.houtstaak New Member

Now I am lost: need or needs

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by ard.houtstaak, Oct 13, 2011.

Hi,

Maybe someone could help me out with this:

"The excessive spheres without sensitivity need a moment for reflection"

Is it: need or needs.

My line reasoning was: the excessive spheres (= it), without sensitivity, needs (it needs) a moment for reflection; but strangely enough I also could imagine to put need in there as well.

Love,
    Arianne

2. agentkirb

agentkirb New Member

I'm not a grammar expert, but I do know that if the noun is plural, the verb is "singular". It's not "it needs" it's "they need".

3. chellelouj16

chellelouj16 New Member

Dear ard,
    In this kind of sentence, you will use need. The verb which is need in this sentence should depend on the kind of subject you're using. In this manner, the subject is excessive spheres which is plural in form so we use the base form of the verb. If the subject given is singular, more likely you will use the verb with additional "s".

4. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

'need' is the wrong word, singular or plural... 'spheres' can't 'need' anything... what you seem to mean here is 'call for'...

your reasoning was faulty in that it would only be singular if you had written 'the excess of spheres' since 'excess' is a noun.... 'excessive' is only an adjective quantifying 'spheres' which is the subject/noun... but 'need' would still be the wrong word even if that change was made...

also, 'a moment for reflection' is awkward, as well... should be 'of' not 'for' to make good sense...

5. lostinwebspace

lostinwebspace Active Member