1. xunrequited.lovex

xunrequited.lovex New Member

Paragraphing / Description

Discussion in 'Descriptive Development' started by xunrequited.lovex, Jul 9, 2007.

Hello again!

I have been having a common problem in my few, but determined, years of writing. The problem: when do you create a new paragraph?

For instance, say you are describing a prison. You want to put into detail the bars of the cell, the dull lighting, the stench, and of course your own character's emotions as (s)he stalks down the aisle. Yet, I find myself in a pickle. I put so much description into my writing that I feel at times it bores the reader. Nevertheless, I know that there are some readers that enjoy description. All the same, I'm still adding so much of my own visuals. I get carried away. When I want to start a new paragraph, I have little knowledge of where to begin next.

An example: "My breath hitches in my throat. I feel the eyes of my inmates scoring my clothes, penetrating the thin cloth and tearing into my very flesh. They are like firey demons, lurking behind their bars. No chains could hold these monsters back. Sooner or later, they would have me. I can still feel those eyes peeling me apart, not undressing me, but baring like fangs at the pink triangle on my sleeve. They foam like rabid dogs, they reach out like skeletons eager to reattach their flesh by using my own.

Their voices vibrate on my tympanums. "Filthy queer!" I flinch. "Get outta here you homophile!" Another shrinking motion and the pain rushes to my cranium. Blood rolls down my neck, my vision blurs. A heavy blow from my guard and I learn to ignore the comments bombarding my senses. I cannot help but feel dirtied, and I itch to wipe the foreign spit off of my cheek in which another prisoner, donned in a red triangle, unleashed upon me."

Was I right to change the paragraph from the gaze of the prisoner's eyes to the voices? Was there anywhere else I should have made another paragraph?