1. Thatoneguy465

Thatoneguy465 New Member

Past or present tense?

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Thatoneguy465, May 10, 2017.

This is my fourth novel I'm writing (not published only two of the three written so far I've finished so I'm still new to all of this.) but I have always wrote my novels or short stories in the present tense despite the fact I have only read about four to six novels in the present tense.

So the question is when it comes to writing a novel which should someone go with if they do want to be published one day? Past tense feels off to me when I write but present tense comes natrual, but I am aware that most readers find the present tense taxing and annyoing.

Also if you give the pros and cons of both tenses I will not read that part as I already know the pros and cons of both, but if you want to do it anyway go for it as I'm sure there might be some people who would like to know.

Thanks.

2. Laurin Kelly

Laurin Kelly Contributor Contributor

I'm not sure if the above is true or not, but assuming it is? I'd say the number one thing you don't want to do when trying to get published is write in a way that you know turns readers off. An agent or publisher isn't going to care a whit about what comes naturally to you or not. They care about selling books first and foremost, and if present tense is as unappealing as you believe it to be, your manuscript will likely be dead on arrival.

3. Cave Troll

Cave Troll It's Coffee O'clock everywhere. Contributor

Where cushions are comfy, and straps hold firm.
    Go with past if anything I have been told, is worth.
    Present tense is rather unpopular to many here
    as I have found out.

4. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

Some agents, publishers, and readers won't read present tense. I've only seen one (informal) poll on it, which came out at 22%.

I've never seen anybody say they won't read something in past tense.

So from a logical, numbers perspective? Go with past.