1. CreeWolf

CreeWolf New Member

Placement of character description

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by CreeWolf, Jan 8, 2012.

So after finally overcoming what could be best described as a horrible fear of being a terrible writer, I've sat down and started on a novel. However one thing is nagging the hell out of me. I want to start out my story with a small action scene. Nothing over the top, just something to get the reader hooked from the beginning. Now as I'm writing this scene, I realize rather quickly that I need to keep things flowing or the tension of the scene will fizzle out. On the other hand it involves the main character of my story and, besides how he handles the scene, it does little to describe his physical appearance. I can't seem to shake the idea that if I don't describe him amidst this action sequence it will make describing him later seem...wrong. Logically I know that it realistically shouldn't work out that way but some insane section of my brain refuses to relinquish its death grip on the idea. Anyone care to weigh in on this?

2. cruciFICTION

cruciFICTION Contributor Contributor

I describe very little of any of my character's physical appearances. I might occasionally mention a detail or two, but most of it I leave to the reader. I introduce it if it's actually important. Some stories are like that. I mean, if there's something remarkable about their appearance - if they're quite large, quite small, have dyed hair, have interesting eyes, et cetera - then it should be mentioned as early as possible.

Whatever you do, don't mention details when they're not important. You will be severely punished, by me, if you ever use anything even resembling the following phrases:
    "<character takes action> as they looked up into her deep blue eyes."
    "<character takes action> and pushes back her long, raven hair/blonde locks <rest of sentence>."
    Mention appearances where it's necessary.

3. Tesoro

Tesoro Contributor Contributor