Tags:
  1. cosmic lights

cosmic lights Contributor Contributor

Plot problems

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by cosmic lights, Oct 29, 2019.

Hello,

I've been trying to work on my plot for sometime but I'm just not getting any where so wanted to ask for some advice because I have very little experience. I have a problem, after my inciting incident, that I can't seem to find a direction for the story to go into. I know my ending but have no idea how to get there. I don't know if it's that the first half of my book has too many options or not enough. I've tried just writing it, and that didn't work. I also tried working through different plot structures and same thing...I just come up blank. I'm happy to provide a short synopsis of my beginning just so you can see what I mean if necessary. But I don't want to make this question too long.

Thanks for some suggestions.

2. Naomasa298

Naomasa298 HP: 10/190 Status: Confused Contributor

I think a synopsis would help, otherwise the question is too general.

3. cosmic lights

Ok, I do that.

4. Kalisto

Kalisto Senior Member

My suggestion is experiment. Try different things. True, you will have drastically different drafts, but you will also come out knowing what works and what doesn't.

5. Thundair

Thundair Contributor Contributor

Find a characteristic about your MC that’s interesting and write a backstory to reveal how that came about. That always gets me going when I’m stuck. Also find a constant feature that’s tied to the characters in dialog or physicality, which helps identify them along the way. When you speak of to many options, play those out in your mind and pick the one that has the greatest tension or is the most compelling.