1. Aprella

Aprella Member

Poems in stories

Discussion in 'The Craft of Writing Poetry' started by Aprella, Jun 2, 2013.

As a literature student I come across a lot of every interesting poems and stories. I was wondering if you can use lines of poems in stories without having issues with rights and all that. Isn't it so that you can freely use it after the author has been dead 75 years? Since I am especially talking about poems from the Victorian ages and earlier.
    I was also wondering if people find it annoying to read parts of poems in stories. I would love to use poems, though I'd be careful to use them only if they add something to the plot, setting, characters etc instead of throwing them in there randomly. I considered writing some poems myself but well... I'm not much of a poet :p
    Another thing, is it okay to refer to characters from a story? (as example: "he reminds me of Mr. Darcy.") I am planning to make one of my character be some kind of a literature freak and I'd will be nice to add a reference to something here and there though I can imagine it might be annoying for people who do not know the stories. and if I do something like this, do I have to credit it?

Any advice or thoughts about this subject?

2. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

you can use poems or lines from poems if the work is in the public domain, so first you need to establish that fact...

next, of course you must cite the poet...

i would suggest not doing so, as i find poems tossed into works of fiction annoying and almost always ignore them completely, and suspect i'm in the majority on that, as readers go...