1. Zupkaa

Zupkaa New Member

Possible racial stereotype?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Zupkaa, Apr 15, 2022.

Hi, everyine. I'm slavic aspiring writer from Poland. I've been writing my novel since 2017. Lately, I've been focusing about fixing some plots and topics my story includes. I've noticed something that bothers me about one of my main characters.
    He's sort of biracial man (one of his parents is black and the other is white). Let's name him X.
    Though, nationalities and races don't exist in this universe, neither racism or racial prejudice. The characters are diverse in skin colors though.
    X is moral, rather calm, objective, understanding and has trusting nature. He always tries to see good sides of everyone. X also has his flaws as being a little arrogant, coward and being a little bit pert with people he's close with. He leads the main plot in my novel, but isn't very heroic.
    I have some main problems with him I'd like to fix or just ask if the're appopriate.
    1. X started off as sidekick. He went on a journey with white woman, his friend, but they both had their own ideas and purposes. He wasn't anyone's servant and helper or spirital mentor but I feel that it falls a little into Magical... you know, trope. Throughout the whole story I developed his own arc and decided to make him the main character. The white woman is still by his side, but she's doesn't have her motivations and is just a comic relief.
    2. X is very moral and avoids violence and conflicts. It's rooted in his childhood which wasn't really easy.
    Even when it comes to enemies of X, who are white people, he refuses to hurt anyone. In his frend group he likes to be the voice of reason. X also often is the mediator and likes to solve problems with compromises. He also believes that everyone can be changed and I feel that it is a little bit steoretypical?