1. spklvr

spklvr Contributor Contributor

Help with punctuation

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by spklvr, Mar 3, 2012.

I consider myself pretty decent at punctuation, in normal writing at least. Then I write this atrocity, which I also highly doubt is grammatical. How should I punctuate here? I just used commas for now. I played with dashes and stuff for a while, but I’m not that good at English punctuation (I don’t think we even use dashes in my language).

This is the sentence, spoken by my character who has just been told to ask politely.

“Dear mother, who is possibly, no not possibly, most definitely, the greatest mother in the whole wide world, no, not world, universe, could you, if it’s not too much of a bother, please, pretty please, bring me some ice-cream?”

Thank you.

Edit: Just saw that cold grave had posted a very similar question right below mine... I'd still like to get some opinions on this particular sentence though, if it's not too much trouble.

2. Berber

Berber Active Member

Wow, that's a dozy of a sentence and the overload of commas make the whole thing feel... clunky. Dashes are often used to represent a shift in tone or a break or hesitation in thought. Personally, I would use them in this instance before each "no." You have some commas you could easily trim out as well to make the sentence as a whole more fluid. Below is how I would punctuate the sentence with minimal revision. There's probably an even more suitable means of punctuation, as I am no expert on the topic of dashes. But, this one at least trims out the over abundant amount of commas.

"Dear mother, who is possibly -- no not possibly, most definitely the greatest mother in the whole wide world -- no not world, universe, if it's not too much of a bother could you please, pretty please bring me some ice-cream?"

3. Jhunter

Jhunter Mmm, bacon. Contributor