1. writing-n00b

writing-n00b New Member

Premise-Driven Urban Fantasy Novel Help

Discussion in 'Fantasy' started by writing-n00b, Dec 24, 2015.

Hey guys, I'm currently in the character development process of an urban fantasy novel. I'm brand new to writing so go easy on me :). I wish for this story to be premise-driven, but am unsure as to whether my current premise is going to carry the story and offer sufficient conflict. Please take the time to evaluate my premise and offer any suggestions and opinions as to how it might be bulked up, changed, or maybe even kept as is. Here it is:

Premise: “Pursuit of one's dream grants purpose to life.”

2. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

Ok, so this is the theme which will serve as the tone and reason for your story. Now your object is to determine how you wish to show this. Does your MC get a clean ride from start to finish? Are there obstacles to overcome? Is the theme shown through the inverse, by not following one's dreams, thus lacking purpose? Is there are a combination of the aforementioned? What direction do you see the MC taking? How about secondary or ancillary characters? How does that direction allow/force the character(s) to grow in a way that brings the theme to fruition?

The idea that you present: "Pursuit of one's dreams grants purpose to life" is not something that in and of itself that needs to be "bulked up" the way one would think of that in terms of the plot or character building. Think of this more as the reason why you are writing the story.

Sam Frost likes this.
  3. peachalulu

peachalulu Member Reviewer Contributor