1. mammamaia

    mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19,235
    Likes Received:
    1,015
    Location:
    Coquille, Oregon

    probs: italics for quotes and moving text

    Discussion in 'Support & Feedback' started by mammamaia, Oct 6, 2013.

    is there any way to have quoted parts of a post appear in standard font, not italics?... it's very annoying to have to read more than a word or two in that form to begin with and if part of the quoted material was in italics originally, then the whole quote is not being shown as it appeared in its original post...

    another problem that's been bugging me since the change is that when i highlight part of my reply and try to move it to another part of the sentence, it always appears at the end of the entire block of text, not where i moved it to... that never happened before the site re-do...
     
    Daniel likes this.
  2. GingerCoffee

    GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    17,837
    Likes Received:
    6,161
    Location:
    Ralph's side of the island.
    In the meantime, you can indent quotes instead and get around the problem. I've done that when I wanted to preserve the italics.

    "Is there any way to have quoted parts of a post appear in standard font, not italics?... it's very annoying to have to read more than a word or two in that form to begin with and if part of the quoted material was in italics originally, then the whole quote is not being shown as it appeared in its original post..."
    I too, would prefer quoted material not be in italics.
     
  3. Wreybies

    Wreybies The Ops Pops Operations Manager Staff Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,204
    Likes Received:
    13,464
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    When I quote, in order to preserve the emphasis originally intended by the person whom I am quoting, I just bold the words.
     
  4. mammamaia

    mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19,235
    Likes Received:
    1,015
    Location:
    Coquille, Oregon
    good suggestions... thanks... guess i'll have to not count on being able to be lazy on that issue...

    what about the moving text bit?... have you tried doing it and had the same problem i have with that?
     
  5. Wreybies

    Wreybies The Ops Pops Operations Manager Staff Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,204
    Likes Received:
    13,464
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    That bit I'm going to have to play around with and see what it does. Moving highlighted text in a block is not a feature that I use in my internet life. I know what it is, but my personal choice is to highlight, Command-X, and then paste it where I want it. The move function is always something that happens to me by mistake, not on purpose.
     
  6. GingerCoffee

    GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    17,837
    Likes Received:
    6,161
    Location:
    Ralph's side of the island.
    around with and see what it does. Moving highlighted text in a block is not a feature that I use in my internet life. I know what it is, but my personal choice is to highlight, That bit I'm going to have to playCommand-X, and then paste it where I want it. The move function is always something that happens to me by mistake, not on purpose.​

    I just did it on the above quote without any trouble.
     
  7. Cogito

    Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    35,899
    Likes Received:
    2,095
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Converse wih Daniel about this. There were similar problems in vBulletin, and he fixed the QUOTE function more than once after software upgrades.
     
  8. mammamaia

    mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19,235
    Likes Received:
    1,015
    Location:
    Coquille, Oregon
    testing to see if it works for me, have done for gc... as it seems to

    nope!... i highlighted the 4 words, as usual, then 'grabbed' the highlight and dragged it to appear after 'testing'... which used to work just fine, as it does in any ms word document, but, as you see, it still ends up at the end, instead...

    is that the method you used, ginger, or did you do something different?
     
  9. JJ_Maxx

    JJ_Maxx Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3,322
    Likes Received:
    503
    This is a test!

    Originally posted by mammamaia:
    testing to see if it works for me, have done for gc... as it seems to

    nope!... i highlighted the 4 words, as usual, then 'grabbed' the highlight and dragged it to appear after 'testing'... which used to work just fine, as it does in any ms word document, but, as you see, it still ends up at the end, instead...

    is that the method you used, ginger, or did you do something different?
    Hmmmm... I guess that works.
     
  10. Daniel

    Daniel I'm sure you've heard the rumors. Founder Staff Contributor

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,699
    Likes Received:
    502
    Location:
    Peoria, Illinois
    Hey, thanks for brining this to my attention. We made the change in vB, it's just something that slipped through the cracks from the migration.

    Should be fixed now, no more auto-italicized quotes.
     
  11. JJ_Maxx

    JJ_Maxx Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3,322
    Likes Received:
    503
    Hooray for Daniel!

    EDIT: Wait a second, it's still italicized, yes?
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2013
  12. Daniel

    Daniel I'm sure you've heard the rumors. Founder Staff Contributor

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,699
    Likes Received:
    502
    Location:
    Peoria, Illinois
    Okay, that's weird. Disabled it and past quotes changed from italic to not.
     
  13. Daniel

    Daniel I'm sure you've heard the rumors. Founder Staff Contributor

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,699
    Likes Received:
    502
    Location:
    Peoria, Illinois
    My quote wasn't italicized...
     
  14. Daniel

    Daniel I'm sure you've heard the rumors. Founder Staff Contributor

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,699
    Likes Received:
    502
    Location:
    Peoria, Illinois
    Lol looks like it's actually italicized from the editor. :p
     
  15. JJ_Maxx

    JJ_Maxx Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3,322
    Likes Received:
    503
    Haha! Probably from me tinkering with the italics! Lets' see...
     
  16. Wreybies

    Wreybies The Ops Pops Operations Manager Staff Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,204
    Likes Received:
    13,464
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    And just as another test....
     
  17. JJ_Maxx

    JJ_Maxx Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3,322
    Likes Received:
    503
    Okay, I figured out the problem. The WF 4.0 style doesn't work on my work computer, (IE8) so I have to use Default Style, which still italicizes quotes. Oh well, I'm probably the only one who uses or even knows there's a second style to use.
     
  18. Daniel

    Daniel I'm sure you've heard the rumors. Founder Staff Contributor

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,699
    Likes Received:
    502
    Location:
    Peoria, Illinois
    The text you quoted from me did show as italicized even the main style though, which it shouldn't. I'll go ahead and edit the XF default style too.
     
    JJ_Maxx likes this.

Share This Page