1. DrWhozit

DrWhozit Banned

Published Members?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by DrWhozit, Nov 22, 2013.

Question:

Will the published, successful writers [in this thread] please identify themselves?

I have worked professionally as a technical writer/illustrator and was often chosen because I could travel and be a one man research team with acceptable results that didn't lose my employers any clients. I've been writing creatively since Junior High school in 1967.

2. Laze

Laze Active Member

Forty-six years worth of writing, that's a long time. What brings you to this random internet forum?

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

i've been a practicing editor since '53 [edited my hs paper for 3 years], attained professional [= paid!] status in '82...

i became a freelance writer of just about anything that takes words [racking up a variety of paid credits/jobs* in the decades since] the same year, during which i also started a writing consultant business, attracting clients who paid outrageous fees [$75-150/hr] for a wide range of services**...

i gave up writing commercially and the consultant business in '95, when i gave away my home and all my worldy possessions, dedicated the rest of my life to helping others for free, with the abilities i'd been gifted with... since then, my writings have been philosophical in nature [all available for free on my website linked below] and have been helping and mentoring aspiring writers all over the world, on a variety of writing sites and by email...

i've only recently been taking on an occasional client, so i could help out my youngest daughter with a monthly stipend since she became a single mom of two and can't make ends meet, as my only income is social security and it won't stretch that far...

* including short stories; magazine columns; articles; a city-commissioned poem celebrating its sesquecentennial; theme song lyrics for an off-b'way musical; editing a regional magazine; etc.