Tags:
  1. Bob Stuart

Bob Stuart New Member

I need advice on writing dialogue

Discussion in 'Dialogue Development' started by Bob Stuart, Feb 3, 2012.

I never been writing a lot of dialouge, recently I read a book where the author write his dialouge's something like this.

He glanced back at the boy » Why aren't you in school? « Jake didn't really know what to say, » I... felt... sick « he replied studdering, then he started to prepare for the next question.

I try to break up the monotony of the "he said, she said", by inserting action but I sometimes struggle to do this.

I just feel like a complete newbie at the subject, advice?

2. AmyHolt

AmyHolt New Member

My first piece of advice is that "he said" "she said" are invisible. They disappear into the story and so they are good because they don't jolt the reader out of the story the way other dialogue tags would.

What you are talking about is called a beat. Example:

"When was the last time you saw her?"
    "Friday afternoon." Her voice rose and caught. "She drove me to the train station." Her eyes were welling.

A beat is where you insert a beat of action in place of a dialogue tag. It works very well and I use it often in place of a tag.

3. EdFromNY

EdFromNY Hope to improve with age Supporter Contributor

First of all, Cogito has a post on writing dialogue, and I'm hoping he'll post a link to it on this thread.

I would give these guidelines:

1. Avoid long strings of dialogue. It can be tedious to read, even without the "he said, she said". I try to keep dialogue in short bursts, for the most part.
    2. Dialogue should not be a recreation of normal conversation, it should be a digest of it. Normal conversation is full of side comments, mundane matters and routine expressions of politeness that are part of social interaction but are irrelevant for your story.
    3. Only use dialogue to advance your story or to deepen the reader's understanding of the character. Don't use it as filler.