1. Nokhsa

Nokhsa New Member

Question About Blogging Platforms

Discussion in 'Marketing' started by Nokhsa, Mar 28, 2013.

I am a creative writer and would like to start a blog, but I've been repulsed by the platforms I've seen.

Does anyone know of a blogging platform that is only or primarily for creative writing? I've read about Wordpress, Tumblr, Blogger, and other popular ones. Most of them seem very customizable and flooded with images. I'm sure there a niche platforms out there, but even the alternative ones that I've found basically follow suit and deviate little. I'm trying to find a platform that has a user-base interested in creative writing, not journalism, image browsing, social networking, etc.

I suppose I might have ended up at deviantArt if writers there were more serious and the audience for writing was larger. According to my mentor, blogs have killed zines, otherwise I would have loved just do that. (zines would have been ideal for me).

Most of my writing is no longer than a three pages, vignettes and poetry, pretty much, if that helps narrow it down. Maybe blurred with flash fiction.

Any suggestions?

2. NigeTheHat

NigeTheHat Contributor Contributor

I like Wordpress - the variety of themes available means you can do pretty much anything you want with it. You don't need to use an image-heavy design.

That said, Wordpress - more so than places like Blogger or Livejournal - is really just a website-building system. If you want eyes, you have to go fetch them yourself; it doesn't come with a built-in reader base for you. If that's what you're after, and you're not bothered about having an actual website of your own, there's a couple of fiction writing groups on Livejournal you could join. The reader base is nowhere near what it used to be since Facebook stole the crowds, but there's still some people lurking.

3. Nokhsa

Nokhsa New Member