1. nastyjman

nastyjman Senior Member

Questionnaire as an effective way to get critique?

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by nastyjman, Dec 21, 2017.

Hi WF'ers (hah, that sounded like WTF'ers when read loud), I'm thinking of asking a set of questions for a critique. I have never done it before, and I'm not seeing it being utilized in this critique thread. Do you think it will be effective? Personally, I think it would be good to control what type of critiques I'll get. Some may be turned off by it, so I think I can add a "wildcard" area on the questionnaire.

The following are questions that I did not come up with. These can be found on this website:
    https://killzoneblog.com/2014/06/15-questions-for-your-beta-readers-and-to-focus-your-own-revisions.html

Here are the questions:
    • Did the story hold your interest from the very beginning? If not, why not?
    • Did you get oriented fairly quickly at the beginning as to whose story it is, and where and when it’s taking place? If not, why not?
    • Could you relate to the main character? Did you feel her/his pain or excitement?
    • Did the setting interest you, and did the descriptions seem vivid and real to you?
    • Was there a point at which you felt the story started to lag or you became less than excited about finding out what was going to happen next? Where, exactly?
    • Were there any parts that confused you? Or even frustrated or annoyed you? Which parts, and why?
    • Did you notice any discrepancies or inconsistencies in time sequences, places, character details, or other details?
    • Were the characters believable? Are there any characters you think could be made more interesting or more likeable?
    • Did you get confused about who’s who in the characters? Were there too many characters to keep track of? Too few? Are any of the names or characters too similar?