1. Miracle_Boy

Miracle_Boy New Member

Quotations before each chapter

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by Miracle_Boy, Dec 22, 2016.

I have 27 chapters in the memoir that I am writing.
    If I plan to use quotations (mostly short) at the beginning of each of the chapters would that be considered plagiarism?

2. Miracle_Boy

Miracle_Boy New Member

Anyone know.. I'm kind of new to this.

Thanks!

3. antlad

antlad Banned

Not if you cite it. Probably not if it is the only thing on a page and in quotes. If you use quotes that have been used before, make sure you cite. Make sure the quotes are accurate; most popular, famous ones are not.
    Most likely the most famous quote, that never happened- "Play it again, Sam."

4. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor

Not plagiarism if you cite it. Could be a copyright issue, depending on the specific facts.

BayView likes this.
  5. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

The issue is copyright, not plagiarism.

BayView likes this.
  6. antlad

antlad Banned

However, it is only copyright if someone has claimed it.

7. ChickenFreak

I'm not following? If it was put in a fixed form, it's copyrighted until the "author" (and you can be the author of a blog post or Facebook page) of it explicitly disclaims copyright.

BayView and Steerpike like this.
  8. antlad

antlad Banned

OP also never said what type of quotes. From a speech? From a book? From a movie? Is it quoted from a public work? Or a private work?
    Copyrights are a long and meandering maze. They are not as simple as you created it, so you own it. You need to constantly fight for it, or you lose all rights to it. Taking copyrights away from people is an industry in itself. Fairly easy to do.

9. ChickenFreak