1. ChaseRoberts

ChaseRoberts New Member

Reality check

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by ChaseRoberts, Jul 29, 2009.

I've a question, because I'm not sure of this.

My main character, the 'baddie', was rumbled by the police. In a bid to escape he fled in a little outboard motorised dinghy off the island. This dinghy was then found capsized in the middle of the sea, nowhere near land.

My question is this- how likely is it that the police would assume he'd drowned? Or to put it another way, would they still launch like a massive country wide search, with bullitens on the news with his picture etc. or would they just start a sea search for his body, or nearby coast-lines for evidence he'd survived?

I'd hate to think that this whole thing ended up unrealistic and hokey, so input would be appreciated.

Oh, and sorry I've not been around much. I've been writing like a fiend recently.

2. wiggons

wiggons New Member

hmmm im no expert but i reckon they would assume he had drowned. if there was a storm going on at time, and the dinghy was completely ruined they would definitely assume that.
    i think.........

3. Cheeno

Cheeno Member

Unless they happen to have access to recorded satelite coverage of the area? Also depends how...efficient the local police force are. Then again, maybe you should just go with the successful escape if it's necessary to get you where you need to be. Good luck with it.

4. Rei

Rei Contributor Contributor

If I were a police officer, unless I witnessed the death, I would not assume anything. I would search both options instead of taking a chance that, though I did not see him escape drowning, he could have,

5. seta

seta New Member

There are a few factors;

1) What was the severity of the original crime? If the suspect was a mass murderer, then a few seaplanes might be dispatched to look for a body.