Tags:
  1. shadow88

shadow88 New Member

Novel Referencing format in books

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by shadow88, Aug 5, 2013.

Hello, I am aiming to soon publish my first book. Although I am not new to writing, I am new to setting out a book for print. Thus I would love to receive some feedback from more experienced authors about the process of referencing in-text.

I have a lot of references I draw upon in my work (100+). Having a background in academic work I've put all of these in APA referencing format. So after a sentence where I have drawn upon some particular work I have a reference (for instance, Author 1 & Author 2).

Though this is acceptable formatting for textbooks, is this too formal for a general audience book? The reason I ask ... most general books I've read don't have in-text references, though some have footnotes or just a bibliography (albeit they use a very small amount of works cited -- that could just be the books I've read though so I'm not sure if it's standard procedure for writing a book).

Are references in-text annoying? Should they be kept out of general audience books? If so, how the heck do you make note that you are referencing another author or a particular theory? Or, do you believe it's OK to have references in-text in a general audience book? If so, why do so few books on the market lack thorough referencing?

I am a bit worried that I am using an academic style for a general purpose book, but I can't just not reference at all. I guess one option is to make generalised references, for example, "Einstein's work on relativity demonstrated", without then having an APA reference to a specific book or article afterwards. How do you personally reference when writing for general audience to avoid citing dozens of works in-text which then break up the flow of writing?

Once again, any feedback from seasoned authors is much valued!

Thank you :)

2. katreya

katreya Member