1. Lightning

Lightning New Member

Repetative Powers

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Lightning, Apr 13, 2012.

Hello there writing forums, another conudrum has arisen that you could help me with (I've been posting a lot recently...feels like I'm nagging you all, apologies)

To be simple, my worry is that I have too many people in my story with the same powers (exactly the same, just varying degrees of control). It includes a whole host, adding up to at least eight if I cut it down but many more (minor characters, like minions/underlings etc) if I leave them all with the abilities. I suppose that I'm worried this will become a problem in my story. Have no fear about them being the only abilities, there are many more, but this is the most common. There a total of 4 techniques that are used by these 8 mentioned characters.

Thanks again for your help, and sorry for constantly posting, I suppose it's because I'm a novice at writing (but apparently good...)

(I'd rather not tell you the actual abilities to keep it a secret...sorry...)

2. superpsycho

superpsycho New Member

Who gets powers and why. If there is a common cause to powers then most of the people could be prone to getting the same types of powers. It really depends on the foundation you've established. If you given the readers that power are random or unique per individual because of some external stimulus then you may have a problem. It would unusual for everyone to get bit by a mutant spider that creates spider men (or spider pigs), unless of course there is a large epidemic of mutant spiders.

3. Lightning

Lightning New Member